A bit of history
Rising out of the blue of its lagoons and crossed by brick red bridges, which connect its islands, Comacchio is the most original and fascinating town in the Po Delta. Ancient churches, elegant palaces and humble fishermen’s homes are aligned along the streets or are mirrored in the water of the canals, frequented today only by tour boats.
A very ancient history, whose memory is lost in the timeless atmosphere of the place, which is indissolubly bound to the unique sorrounding landscape.
A BIT OF HISTORY
The origins of the lagoon city date back to the late Roman period or early Middle Ages. The first historical documents go back to this period. The first is a memorial stone dedicated to the Bishop Vincenzo belonging to the first Cathedral San Cassiano (708). The second is the famous capitular of the Lombard King Liutprando (715 or 730 A.D.) which established the taxes paid by the “navigatores comaclenses” on their salt trade in the ports of the Langobardia. The strategic role and control of the salt trade excited the anger of Venice, which fought a very long and cruel war against Comacchio.
All the episodes characterising the second millenium date back to general events. In 1275 the city issued its Statutes, while in 1325 the Este Lords became the masters of Comacchio. Their rule lasted for more than two centuries until 1598 when the Church took over. Under the Church rule, the marshlands were leased and subleased until most of the lagoon patrimony was drained. The last land reclamation regarded the Mezzano territory (more than 18.000 hectares) at the beginning of the 60s. In 1821, the “town on the water”, consisting of thirteen little islands, was connected to the dry land for the first time.
In the 60s, the tourist boom of the Lidi exploded and the 7 Lidi of Comacchio arise on a strip of coast extending 23 kilometers. Archaeology, history, tourism, gastronomy, environment become the point of reference of a territory worth discovering.